Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > Sticky: Digiscoping Review of Sony Rx100Mk11 and Kowa TE-11-WZ 25/60 Wide Angle Zoom Lens Both attached to Kowa 883 Angled Scope.

Brian McCombe.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/brianmccombedigiscopedimages/

Danny has asked me to post this review and i sincerely hope it will be of help to fellow Digiscopers:)

Click on my flickr photostream link above to see the new equipment and new Sony/Kowa images.

Ist off,i have been using for almost 2/12 years the Nikon V1 and am really delighted with the results.

However in my humble opinion the New Sony RxMk11 together with the new Kowa zoom lens will bring Digiscoping Images to a higher level than the V1.Why ?

There is a massive 1inch sensor in the Sony (a first for a point and shoot compact).There are rumours that the New Nikon V3 will have a 1nch sensor (Lets wait and see !).

Compare on flickr the definition between my Nikon/Sony Images and judge for yourselves.

Why are Kevin Bolton and Paul Hackett (Two of the top Digiscopers in the World) using this camera now ?? :

Simply because IQ (Image quality) is outstanding.

However the Sony is NOT perfect :

The Camera itself is tiny and if you have large hands (mine are small) menu navigation,exposure control,iso settings etc can be a "Pain In The A**se" to control in the field.:( and requires real precision for effective menu navigation.

The Biggest problem with the Sony is that the lens retracts automatically when trying to save,protect,delete images etc.A REAL PAIN !!.

However this can be resolved by having precise allignment to your lens and two clicks on the digital zoom will eliminate vignetting quickly and you are ready to shoot again.

Please Note.Vignetting is not an issue with the Sony/Kowa configuration (Zoom the Sony Kit lens a small amount and all vignetting is gone)