Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Tips > Is this as good as it gets?

Dazzler

I'm fairly new to this digiscoping game. My DSLR adapter arrived yesterday morning so I trotted off to local reserve and took a few shots. the results are disappointing - very soft. I got better results with my telephoto zoom. Am I expecting too much of the scope? it's a fairly 'budget' scope, the opticron HR66 with the opticron DSLR adapter (40215). I know this set up costs about a third of the canon zoom I have, so is it really just a case of 'get what you pay for?'.

I used fast shutter for most shots (1/1000 to 1/4000), with very high ISO, but usually my software (lightroom 2) is good at fixing noise on the Canon 400D, so I don't think it's shake or noise causing softness.

I'm really trying to decide if this is worth perservering with or to send back the adapter for a refund - advice very welcome!

cheers

Daz

[can't insert an image?]

April 28, 2011 at 5:32 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

Hi Daz,

Digiscoping is a technique that you will need to practice quite a lot!

Its very common practice to take lots of shots when beginning, with varied success, and with few good pictures, so don't worry, this is normal!!

It sounds to me like you need to understand your camera a little better. This will come in time, with practice again. Exposure and sharpness issues are solved by judging the conditions outside, and then setting your camera up to suit these conditions.

The adaptor that you have will probably restrict your aperture, to around f10/f12 on a 66mm objective scope. This is quite dark, so your shutter speed will be slower, this will cause the fuzzy effect, as slower shutter speeds result in a reduction of sharpness.