Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > Which compact camera to use with Celestron Regal 80ED?

Trevorf

Hi, i am aware that i can use the T connector with this scope and use DSLR but, as another poster mentioned , the eyepiece came apart when doing it ! I have since sorted that out but i don't like fiddling about with the eyepiece in the field so would prefer to try a compact .I am a complete novice at all this - tried today with a NIkon coolpix 5600 handheld -most images failed as i had terrible trouble lining camera and scope lens up .Also i presume the zoom is a bit of a hinderance (on the camera) .Can anyone advise as to a good camera to use with the scope ? and do i need an adaptor? I am not out to get magical art photos -more like  reasonable record shots when i am out birding .

nice site with lots of good info.by the way!!

Cheers

January 15, 2012 at 5:42 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

Hi Trevor,

Thanks for your question & welcome to The Forum!

I believe the Celestron Regal scopes come with an adapter that can be attached to the end of the eyepiece. This adapter will give you a 42mm thread known as the T thread.

You can indeed connect a T2 adapter (of your brand of DSLR) to this thread to directly connect a DSLR.

Alternately you can attach a compact camera to this thread using an adapter and/or a stepping ring.

My friend and fellow digiscoper Geriant has a blog which may help. He digiscopes with a Regal scope, and came across a pretty handy little adapter called the Jackar universal adapter. This could help you. There are also other ways to directly connect a compact to this scope, but it will depend upon the camera chosen.