Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > Scope Advice

Layzee=sod=

I am when it comes to digiscoping a complete novice, wasnt even aware of it until a couple of weeks ago when a work colleague told me he had purchased a nikon 80ed (or something similar).

Being quite a keen amateur photographer I investigated and was intrigued as to what can be achieved, I use all canon lenses and bodies but the one thing that my budget will not run to is spending several K on a long lens, so when this came up I thought ok i can make a compromise on quality as against cost.

I dont want to invest too much for starters so i am looking for advice on a scope, I have looked and like the sound of acuter either 80 or 100 model, I would be connecting camera body direct to scope using T2 adapter.

Another question straight or angled ? as obviously the less there is in front of the lens the better.

Any advice help will be appreciated.

May 10, 2012 at 7:07 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

Hi there,

Thanks for your enquiry and welcome to The Forum.

It sounds like you already have an understanding of photography which will help you. Also, it is good that you recognise digiscoping is a trade off against the high costs involved with conventional telephotography.

I think the Actuer 80-100 would be an ok choice, but the Celestron Ultima 80 or 100 ED would be better as the ED glass will make a great improvement to the quality of your pics. I know for sure that the Celestrons have a T2 thread on the eyepiece that will allow your camera to connect directly using a T2 mount. I'm not sure about the Acuter's, BUT i think they use the same eyepiece as the Celestrons.

I would choose an angled scope everytime. They are easier to use for digiscoping in my opinion, and means that you can use the set up in low down situations easier.