Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Tips > DSLR setup

Charles

Hi I am new to digiscoping, although an experienced photographer. For digiscoping I am trying to use a Hawke ED65 scope with a Canon 50D. I have found directly connecting the camera to the eyepiece means I need really good light conditions. I have been experimenting by connection the 50D via a Canon 50mm fixed lens. I can't work out the settings though :o Do I use a manual setting or aperture priority? When using aperture priority I get terrible over exposure, and when manual I have to underexposed a phenomenal amount to get anywhere near correct eXposure. So, I am very keen to hear from experienced digiscopers as to how I go about this. I have a week on a Welsh mountain next week so hoping to get the settings sorted to then practice :)

December 20, 2012 at 1:27 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

Hi Charles,

Thanks for a very interesting post! My immediate thought is 65mm objective!

Its not impossible to digiscope with a 65mm scope, but it does make things harder. I'd struggle for light using my Canon, 50mm lens and my 80mm objective, so it doesn't surprise me when you say that you struggle with the light.

One important point though is light in general. It would seem you are used to the parameters surrounding conventional photography, but digiscoping isn't like that. Its a constant trade between camera settings and the given conditions. Because of the higher zooms involved apertures are small and shutter speeds are generally slower. Having a good sunny day is always essential as you'd know, but its even more vital with digiscoping.

I always use aperture priority mode. Letting the camera choose the shutter speed helps my technique. I can then concentrate on using the compensation and ISO to control my exposures.