Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > Help me please, purchased new scope and need advice

wickadel

Hi, First off I am new to this so please bare with me here. I just plunked down considerable money on a Celestron 100f ED spotting scope.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=617049&Q=&is=REG&A=details

I am looking for advice on how to hook my Canon T2i to this scope and be able to take decent photo's. I have done some shooting with a friends scope and my camera with some success, obvious learning curve. However his scope was much smaller and he had a t-adapter and another attachment that connected my camera to the scope using no lens on the camera and no eye piece on the scope. I used the scope focus knob to adjust the picture clarity.

The new scope from Celestron came with a small ring that screws onto the eye piece and then states I need the T-ring adapter. I purchased the Canon T-ring adapter from Celestron as well but it has not arrived yet.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/261256-REG/Celestron_93419_T_Mount_SLR_Camera_Adapter.html

I'm wondering if I can actually take photo's through the eye piece of the scope with a DSLR or if I actually need a different attachment piece? The directions with the scope are so vague and don't tell me anything except that I need a T-ring adapter. Any advice here will be much appreciated, the Bald Eagles are gathering my area and I would like to get some cool photo's of them. I opt'd to buy this scope over a new lens because I want to be able to use it for other things as well. I hope you can tell me I didn't waste my money, and lead me in the right direction to shooting some cool stuff. I have seen longer attachments that state they are for 1.25" telescope adapter, didn't know if I will need some thing like this? Again thank you for all your suggestions....

January 23, 2013 at 8:40 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner