Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > camera & lens

robin105

Hi, new to the forum, new to scoping and will be new to digiscoping when ive purchased all the gear,

ive purchased the Nikon Prostaff 5, 82A, with the sep25 lens as in Danny's review, for now i will be just using it as a scope until ive saved a few more pennies, i would be interested to know if the coolpix P310 in the review is the best camera to use ? bearing in mind i'm completely new to this and i 'm not sure how old the review is, maybe there is an improved version out now.

Also would it be a good idea to get the the sep 20-60 lens when using as a scope only,  and the sep 38w lens for digiscoping

cheers, andy

August 17, 2013 at 12:08 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the forum.

i think for now, as a beginner that just learning the technique is gonna be enough of a challenge for you.

Ease of connection is so vital, and with the pro staff kit you have everything to get learning!

The P310 is a pretty good compact, and as u progress you'll want better everything, not just cameras so be patient and learn and then look at different combinations :)

All the best,

Danny.

--
August 18, 2013 at 4:48 PM Flag Quote & Reply

robin105

cheers Danny,  i'll start saving up for the 310 then..

Andy

August 19, 2013 at 1:58 AM Flag Quote & Reply

robin105

So i'm assumimg the sep25 is the lens to use when diigiscoping as thats the one that comes if you buy the full package, also the kit you reviewed,  but do i need a more powerfull lens (ie sep38 or 20-60) when just using it as a spotting scope ?

Andy

August 19, 2013 at 7:29 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner

I think the 20-60 will be great for observation purposes :)

Regards,

Danny

--
August 19, 2013 at 11:49 AM Flag Quote & Reply

robin105

thanks for the advice Danny,