Digiscoping
Help,
Advice & Lessons for All!

Digiscoping Forum

Post Reply
Forum Home > Digiscoping Equipment > New kit

Bennerley
Member
Posts: 17

Hello all, Sorry its been a while but I lost the faith a little! I just wasn't happy with my particulr set up. Got out today to try a new camera for digiscoping but minus the ‘scope, I just wanted to familiarise myself with its use, it’s a poor man’s Nikon V2, the Nikon V1 S1, it has most of the features of the more expensive V2, aperture, shutter and manual modes, plus its very fast ! And it shoots in raw, all the features needed for digiscoping and it take a damn fine picture ! This model is missing a view finder [V2 has one] which would have been useful, but apart from that so far so good.

I see when the camera is attached to the 'scope via a T-mount controls and features are limited, shooting in manual and focusing the 'scope I already know but I could do with some tips on method and settings. Im using an Opticron ES 80 GA ED/45 'scope and a 20x60 SDL Eyepiece.

I am also waiting for a bit of kit to attach the camera to the 'scope via the cameras lens filter thread, so far I've tried this using the opticron uni-adapter and although results are quite pleasing I find this of adaptor too cumbersome. Digi-on!  Dave

--

Dave J.

September 1, 2013 at 6:07 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner
Posts: 372

Hi Dave,

What adapter are you planning to use mate?

Glad you're back on the digiscoping horse.

Patience is KEY for you now!!

Best wishes,

Danny

--
September 1, 2013 at 4:57 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Bennerley
Member
Posts: 17

Hi Danny, Im using the opticron Photo adapter 41114 with a t-mount for v1, it works fairly well but my back garden doe'snt actually need a 'scope, not big enough! thats for the 20x60 zoom, for the 23x I'm using the Opticron universal adapter with a Nikor 11-27.5 on the camera, this method has more control and achoice of lens's I can use the Nikor  30-110 as well, but i need to work with a step ring , which I'm waiting for and the 50065 DCC adapter which I already have. Cheers Dave.

--

Dave J.

September 2, 2013 at 10:35 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner
Posts: 372
Do you have the 10-30mm lens with your V1? If you have you could attach it to your 41114 using a T2 stepping ring. You'll just need the diameter of your lenses filter thread. You can buy a T2 stepper from jack the hat photographic. It should all work as the 10-30 lens focuses internally so you can use the autofocus on the camera as well! Let me know!! Danny.
--
September 2, 2013 at 11:03 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Bennerley
Member
Posts: 17

No I don't Danny, when I bought the camera I got the kit bundle for adaptability, a decent "walking about camera"   but I will get one as soon as I can afford it !

--

Dave J.

September 2, 2013 at 11:43 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Dannys Digiscoping
Site Owner
Posts: 372

What lenses do you have Dave?

--
September 2, 2013 at 12:05 PM Flag Quote & Reply

You must login to post.